Opinion Former Article

HRH The Prince of Wales accepts invitation to be RAeS Honorary President in 2016

The Royal Aeronautical Society is delighted to announce that His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales has accepted the Society’s invitation to act as its Honorary President for 2016, the 150th anniversary year of the establishment of the Society.

Continuing Royal association

His Royal Highness’s Presidency will continue the Royal Family’s long association with the Royal Aeronautical Society. Her Majesty The Queen became the Society’s Patron in 1952, succeeding her father, King George VI, in this role. Both Their Royal Highnesses The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, and The Prince of Wales are Honorary Fellows, the Society’s highest and most prestigious award. The Duke of Edinburgh was Honorary President during 1966, the Society’s centenary year.

Celebrate and inspire

The Chief Executive of the Royal Aeronautical Society, Simon Luxmoore FRAeS said: “We are honoured that The Prince of Wales has graciously accepted our invitation to become our Honorary President during our 150th anniversary year. 2016 will be an occasion to celebrate innovation, not only through past achievements but, more importantly, through looking to the future. As such, we very much intend to support His Royal Highness’ continuing commitment to encouraging youth opportunity. The support of our Honorary President in this important area will inspire the next generation towards even greater innovations in science, engineering and technology in general, and to aerospace and aviation in particular.”




Emma Bossom
Tel: 020 7670 4342
Email: emma.bossom@aerosociety.com

Notes to Editors:
1. The Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS) is the world’s only professional body dedicated to the entire aerospace community. The Society promotes the highest professional standards in all aerospace disciplines; provides specialist information; acts as a central forum for the exchange of ideas; and plays a leading role in influencing opinion on aerospace matters.

2. Many of the leading aerospace innovators over the past 150 years have been Presidents of the Society, including: Sir Frederick Handley Page, Sir Sydney Camm, Richard Fairey and Lord Brabazon.

3. An RAeS Working Group is currently developing ideas to celebrate the formation of the Society with a theme of innovative firsts in aerospace and to inspire a new generation into science and engineering.

More Articles by Royal Aeronautical Society ...

Disclaimer: Press releases published on this page are from key opinion formers who promote their organisation's activities by subscribing to a campaign site within politics.co.uk. politics.co.uk does not endorse, edit, or attempt to balance the opinions expressed on this page. The content of press releases are wholly the responsibility of the originating company or organisation.


Load in comments