Opinion Former Article

Sector recognised with New Year Honours

Senior highways and transportation professionals have been celebrated in the New Year’s Honours list, which sees three CIHT members recognised.

They are Professor Peter Jones MCIHT of the Independent Transport Commission (pictured left), Michael Conway FCIHT of FM Conway (right) and Brendan Sleight FCIHT of Transport for London.

Professor Jones’ work with the Independent Transport Commission (ITC) earned him an OBE for voluntary services to national transport policy. He is also a professor of transport and sustainable development at University College London and sits on CIHT’s Urban Design Panel.

Peter Jones said: “I am delighted to receive this honour, to be recognised for ‘voluntary services to national transport policy’, which I regard as an illustration of the valued role which academics can play in contributing to practical transport policy making. I would like to acknowledge the contributions of all those who I have worked with over the years, and who have helped in building bridges between academia and policy making.”

Michael Conway received an MBE for services to UK construction, infrastructure support and road safety. He has led FM Conway for over 30 years and gained a reputation for innovation and progressive thinking in the highway maintenance sector. He said:

“Receiving this award is a great honour. I am extremely proud of the contribution we’ve been able to make to London and the South East’s infrastructure and development needs and in particular our work to promote road safety within the construction industry.

“None of this would have been possible without the efforts of our wider team of talented colleagues and partners,” he added.

Transport for London chief engineer and chair of its Ex-Forces and Reservist staff network group Brendan Sleight was awarded a British Empire Medal (BEM) for services to transport and the community in the capital city. This comes in recognition of his efforts to encourage young adults and those within the Armed Forces to consider careers in the transport industry.

He said: “I am proud to receive this honour. I hope that this inspires more people to pursue a career in the transport industry, whether they are looking for an apprenticeship or a new role after leaving the Forces.”

The New Year’s Honours list also saw OBEs awarded to Caroline Wake of the Channel Tunnel Safety Authority’s UK Delegation and Hugh Wark – former project director for Scotland’s Borders Railway.

MBEs went to Katherine Liddell of Network Rail and Roger Mackintosh of the Department for Transport and Sidney Hawkins of the Air Accidents Investigation Branch.

Giles Barker of Transport for London and Ian Ward of the Isle of Wight Community Bus Partnership were awarded BEMs. Medals also went to Janet Scribe of the Milestone Society for services to local roadside heritage and Vivien Cooper of the Great Western Society for services to railway heritage.

More Articles by Chartered Institution of Highways & Transportation (CIHT) ...

Disclaimer: Press releases published on this page are from key opinion formers who promote their organisation's activities by subscribing to a campaign site within politics.co.uk. politics.co.uk does not endorse, edit, or attempt to balance the opinions expressed on this page. The content of press releases are wholly the responsibility of the originating company or organisation.


Load in comments