All Party Parliamentary Group and Cross Party Group

ABCUL provides secretariat services to the All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Credit Unions at Westminster

The Group meets several times a year and brings politicians from across the political spectrum together to discuss issues affecting the credit union movement. It seeks to raise awareness and build consensus and political support for the movement’s development.

Since the Group was established in 2008, APPG meetings have focused largely on changes to legislative reform. Government ministers, senior officials and credit union leaders discuss the opportunities and challenges presented with interested MPs and Peers.

Other meetings have looked at the Office of Fair Trading’s High-Cost Credit Review and the announcement of a major project between Barclays Bank and ABCUL to develop back-office systems for credit unions.

The APPG's officers are:

Chair - Damian Hinds MP (Conservative)

Vice Chair - Simon Hughes MP (Liberal Democrat)

Vice Chair - Madeleine Moon MP (Labour)

Vice Chair - Lord Kennedy of Southwark (Labour)

Vice Chair - Mark Durkan MP (SDLP)

Treasurer - Chris Evans MP (Labour)

Secretary - Yvonne Fovargue MP (Labour)

Future meetings

Topics for future meetings of the Group are set to include: promoting a savings culture, financial education, partnership with the Post Office network and serving businesses and social enterprises.

Click here to view the APPG on Credit Unions' entry in the All Party Group Register.

For information about joining the APPG or to receive updates about meetings please email


The Cross Party Group on Credit Unions


The Scottish Parliament’s Cross-Party Group (CPG) on Credit Unions gives Scotland’s thriving credit union sector a regular forum at Holyrood.

The Group was founded in 2009 and re-formed in the new Parliament in 2011 with support and members from all five parties in the Scottish Parliament. The CPG meets every few months, bringing together MSPs from across the parties to discuss opportunities, issues of concern and the impact of devolved policy decisions on credit unions in Scotland.

CPG meetings have discussed topics such as helping Scots through the recession, fair and appropriate debt solutions, publicising credit unions and promoting financial capability.

The Cross-Party Group's officers are:

Convener – John Wilson MSP (SNP)
Vice Convener – Anne McTaggart MSP (Scottish Labour)
Secretary – Frank McKillop, ABCUL

ABCUL provides secretariat services to the CPG. For information about the CPG or to receive updates about meetings please email





Join the conversation at #opinion_formers